Do e-signature providers train AI on your documents?

Some do: DocuSign says it trains its AI models on anonymized, aggregated customer data from customers who consent in their contract, and providers that offer AI summaries of your documents read their contents to produce them, even where their policies rule out training. A service that can't read your documents can't train on them: Attest encrypts every document in your browser before upload, so it never has them in readable form, and it has no AI features that process documents.

By DataHubz · Updated October 12, 2026 · 7 min read

The answer, provider by provider

We read each provider's own AI or data-use page on October 11, 2026. The quotes below are exact.

Provider What it says about training AI on your data AI that reads your documents
DocuSign Trains on "anonymized and aggregated" customer data, from customers who consent in their contract Yes, built to find "insights and data" in contracts
Adobe Acrobat AI Assistant content is "never used to train Adobe's AI models" Yes, AI Assistant "processes your documents"
PandaDoc "Customer Content is not used to train any AI LLMs"; anonymized AI outputs, metadata and usage data may be, unless you opt out AI features run on local models and third-party LLMs
Dropbox "We will not build generative AI models using customer content without consent" (company-wide principles) Not stated on that page
Zoho Sign Not stated on its AI page Yes, document summaries
Clicksign Not stated on its Click.AI page Yes, contract summaries
D4Sign Not stated on its D4Sign.AI page Yes, summaries and questions about a document
Attest Can't: it never has your documents in readable form None

What each provider says, in its own words

DocuSign. In a post published May 30, 2024, DocuSign's Chief Product Officer, Dmitri Krakovsky, wrote: "When we improve our AI models using customer data, we only use data that is anonymized and aggregated, from customers who have given consent via their contract, including those who purchase an IAM plan on Docusign's website." The same post says: "Only documents sent or uploaded by consenting Docusign accounts will be used for AI training." An account setting, AI Data Controls, governs it: "For customers who provide contractual consent, the in-product setting will be set to 'on' but your account administrators can turn this setting 'off' at any time, using the in-product controls." If the setting doesn't appear in your account, or is off, DocuSign says it "will not use your data to improve our AI offerings". The post gives an example: "AI models trained on real-world procurement contracts will be better tuned to help unlock the specific insights and data in the contract you're negotiating with a new vendor", such as the identities of the parties and the effective and renewal dates.

Adobe. Adobe's Acrobat AI Assistant page says: "When you use AI Assistant, your content stays yours because it's never used to train Adobe's AI models." Its FAQ adds: "Adobe Acrobat AI Assistant processes your documents using Adobe's secure infrastructure and does not use your content to train AI models."

PandaDoc. PandaDoc's AI policy (updated August 14, 2026) says: "Customer Content is not used to train any AI LLMs. Anonymized and aggregated AI outputs, metadata and analytics such as usage data from your sessions may be used to improve our models unless you opt out of AI features." It uses "a combination of local AI models and select enterprise-grade third-party LLMs (e.g., OpenAI, Anthropic)", and "Third-party AI providers that are used as subprocessors by PandaDoc are prohibited from training on and retaining customer data under PandaDoc's enterprise agreements with such providers." Opting out "is go-forward only": it stops new AI processing, and the policy says it does not delete anonymized data already used for training.

Dropbox. Dropbox's AI Principles (last update April 4, 2025) say: "We will not build generative AI models using customer content without consent." The page covers Dropbox's AI in general and does not name Dropbox Sign.

Zoho Sign, Clicksign and D4Sign offer AI features that work on the document itself:

  • Zoho Sign: "Quickly get the key points of complicated documents by generating simple, contextual summaries." Its FAQ says: "Currently, the AI-based functionalities are text summarization and automatic field detection." Its optional ChatGPT integration uses your own OpenAI key, so "data transfer only occurs with your own OpenAI account."
  • Clicksign: Click.AI summarizes "os principais pontos do contrato" (the main points of the contract) for the signer. It is included on the Plus plan and above.
  • D4Sign: D4Sign.AI generates summaries that identify the parties, the object and the general conditions of a contract, and lets you "Faça perguntas livres sobre o conteúdo do documento" (ask open questions about the document's content). It is included on the Profissional plan.

None of these three AI pages says whether customer documents are used to train AI models.

A policy is a promise. Encryption is a mechanism

Every policy above describes what a provider chooses to do with documents it can read. DocuSign, Adobe, Dropbox Sign and PandaDoc describe their protection as encryption in transit and at rest, and none of them describes end-to-end encryption, so their systems can decrypt the documents they store (DocuSign also sells customer-managed keys, as its premium Security Appliance add-on). Whether those documents feed an AI model then depends on terms the provider writes: consent given in a contract, an account setting that starts "on" for consenting customers, opt-outs that apply from now on.

Three points are worth knowing before you rely on a policy:

  1. "Anonymized and aggregated" describes the provider's own process. You can't inspect it from outside.
  2. An AI feature that summarizes or answers questions about a document has to process its contents. That is true even where the provider promises not to train on them, and the text may pass to third-party model providers under contract.
  3. Opting out may only cover the future. PandaDoc's policy, for one, says opting out does not delete anonymized data already used for training.

A service that can't read your documents can't train on them. That is a property of the encryption, not a promise you have to trust.

How Attest keeps your documents out of reach

Every document sent for signature on Attest is end-to-end encrypted. There is no unencrypted mode. End-to-end encryption means a document is encrypted on your device and can be decrypted only by the people it is meant for.

  1. Your browser encrypts the document before upload, with AES-256-GCM, under a new random key for that document.
  2. That key is encrypted separately to each party's own public key. Each person's private key is created in their browser, and Attest stores it only encrypted, under a key derived from their passkey or recovery phrase. Attest never sees a private key.
  3. The document is decrypted only in the parties' browsers. What signers fill in, such as signatures, names and dates, is encrypted in their browsers too, and so is the sealed signed copy.
  4. Attest stores the document only as ciphertext it can't decrypt. Only fingerprints, never content, go on the public blockchain.

Attest also has no AI features that process documents. It can't train AI on your documents, because it never has them in readable form.

What Attest can still see

Precision matters here. Attest can see the information around a document: account emails; each document's title, file name, size and type; your note to signers; signers' emails and names; where fields are placed; and when each step happened. It also keeps each signer's passkey public key and signature data, which anyone needs to re-check a signature. The contents of the document stay between you and the people you send it to. Attest's pages load no third-party analytics or advertising trackers.

Questions to ask any e-signature provider

  1. Is my document encrypted on my device before upload, and who holds the keys?
  2. Do you train AI on customer data? Is that opt-in or opt-out, and who controls the setting?
  3. Which features read my documents with AI, and can I turn them off?
  4. Which third-party AI providers process my data, and may they keep it or train on it?
  5. When was your AI policy last updated?

If the document is encrypted on your device and only its parties hold the keys, the other four questions no longer apply to its contents.

How to sign with Attest

Start free at attest.datahubz.com/sign with your email. Your first 2 documents are free, in total; after that, the Signing plan is $5 a month for 20 documents, and the people who sign never pay. The step-by-step guide shows how to send your first document.

Questions people ask

Does DocuSign use my documents to train AI?
DocuSign says it trains its AI models on anonymized and aggregated customer data, only from customers who have given consent in their contract, and that "Only documents sent or uploaded by consenting Docusign accounts will be used for AI training." For consenting customers, an account setting called AI Data Controls starts "on" and administrators can turn it off. If the setting doesn't appear in your account, DocuSign says it won't use your data to improve its AI.
Is anonymized training data safe enough?
Anonymization is a process the provider runs on documents it can read, and you can't inspect it from outside. End-to-end encryption removes the question for the contents of your documents: a provider that holds your documents only as ciphertext has nothing readable to anonymize or train on.
Can Attest train AI on my documents?
No. Attest can't train AI on your documents: it never has them in readable form. Every document is encrypted in your browser before upload and decrypted only in the parties' browsers, and Attest has no AI features that process documents.
If I turn off a provider's AI features, are my documents private?
Turning them off stops AI processing from then on; PandaDoc's policy, for example, says opting out stops new AI processing but doesn't delete anonymized data already used for training. A provider that encrypts documents with keys it holds can still read the documents it stores.
Does an AI summary of my contract mean the provider reads it?
Yes. A summary is generated from the document's text, so the service processes the contents. Adobe, for example, says its AI Assistant "processes your documents using Adobe's secure infrastructure".
What does Attest see about my documents?
Attest sees account and signer email addresses, each document's title, file name, size and type, your note, the signers' names, where fields are placed and when each step happened. It never sees the contents, which it stores only as ciphertext it can't decrypt.

Sources

  1. Docusign's AI-Powered Future, With Customer Control at Its Core (May 30, 2024), Docusign, read October 11, 2026
  2. Acrobat AI Assistant, Adobe, read October 11, 2026
  3. PandaDoc AI policy (updated August 14, 2026), PandaDoc, read October 11, 2026
  4. Dropbox AI Principles (last update April 4, 2025), Dropbox, read October 11, 2026
  5. Artificial intelligence (AI) in Zoho Sign, Zoho, read October 11, 2026
  6. Click.AI, Clicksign, read October 11, 2026
  7. Clicksign planos e preços, Clicksign, read October 11, 2026
  8. D4Sign.AI, D4Sign, read October 11, 2026
  9. D4Sign planos e preços, D4Sign, read October 11, 2026
  10. Docusign platform safety, Docusign, read October 11, 2026
  11. Docusign Security Appliance, Docusign, read October 11, 2026
  12. Adobe Acrobat Sign Security Overview (June 2026), Adobe, read October 11, 2026
  13. Dropbox Sign features, Dropbox, read October 11, 2026

Read next

  • Can your e-signature company read your contracts?

    Most e-signature services can decrypt the documents they store. Attest encrypts every document in your browser before upload, so it can't read them.

  • Which e-signature services can read your documents?

    What 21 e-signature services say about encryption, in their words, and which can decrypt your documents. Only Attest end-to-end encrypts them all by default.

  • Attest vs DocuSign

    Attest vs DocuSign on privacy, how signers sign, proof that outlives the vendor and price: $5 a month for 20 documents, with prices as published.

  • Document signing

    Electronic signatures with a passkey: no account or password for signers, documents encrypted in the browser, and a signed copy anyone can verify.